Random Musings

Happy Mother’s Day…to me

20140511-031033.jpg

20140511-031832.jpg

I mentioned the other day that for this Mother’s Day I would be giving myself the Best. Gift. Ever. and it’s true.

I ran down the list of all the things a woman might enjoy…chocolate, pearls, diamonds, a spa day, etc. Yes, I might enjoy all of those things, but nothing more than this: permission to do absolutely nothing and enjoy it. It’s a gift that only I can give myself. And it’s the gift that keeps on giving.

Today I cancelled plans, and I did not plan. We took an impromptu trip to the beach and didn’t even prepare ahead of time. I didn’t pack towels, or lunch. That is work, and I was going to do nothing…and enjoy it.

Enjoying it implies that there is the absence of guilt. I didn’t beat myself up for not packing swimsuits or freak out that the weather may have been a little to cool for a perfect day at the beach. Except, it was perfect. Absolutely perfect.

It was also perfect, because although my mom is far, far away, today I felt close to her.

The one thing I know that she would want to do is go to the beach on Mother’s Day. So I did with my kids what I wished I could do with her. As my toes became engrossed in its sandy composition the shore of a beach thousands of miles away brought me close to my mom on Mother’s Day.

There were many gifts those therapeutic waves washed ashore, among them was also stress relief. The sun kissed my skin, the wind blew my hair, and my heart filled with joy watching the kiddos play, and simultaneously my heart emptied of cares.

Everyday is a gift from God, but this one was special. It was also a gift from me to me.

Happy Mother’s Day!

20140511-031710.jpg

Leave a Reply

